Add to clipboard
 |  Share  |  Email  |  Print     Updated November 28, 2016
Suggest an Update
Organization: Ontario Native Women's Association - Fort William First Nation - Head Office  
Phone Numbers: 807-577-1492
Toll-Free: 1-800-667-0816
Fax: 807-623-1104
c/o ONWA Head Office
684 City Rd, PO Box 15
Fort William First Nation, ON
P7J 1K3
786 Grand Point Rd
Fort William First Nation
Location: Fort William First Nation
Hours: Mon-Fri 9 am-5 pm
Executives: Cora-Lee McGuire-Cyrette - Executive Director
Service Description: An organization that provides support for Aboriginal women and their families

Functions as the Head Office for the Ontario Native Women's Association

Provides social and political support to Native women and their families by means of getting together in groups, socials and cultural activities
  • Liaises with community organizations and educates them on concerns of Native women such as economic development and traditional healing
  • Lobbies the government for funding, employment training, and employment placements
  • Ensures that the views of Aboriginal women are represented in national, provincial and local policies, legislature developments and strategies

Fees: None
Application: Varies by program, call for information
Eligibility - Population(s) Served: Varies by program
Languages: English
Area(s) Served:
Algoma, Barrie & Area, Bolton Caledon, Bramalea, Brampton, Brant, Burlington, Cambridge–North Dumfries, Chatham – Kent, City of Thunder Bay, Cochrane, Collingwood & Area, District of Kenora, District of Rainy River, District of Thunder Bay, Dufferin, Durham North East, Durham West, East Mississauga, East York, Elgin, Etobicoke, Grey and Bruce, Guelph–Puslinch, Haldimand Norfolk, Haliburtion County and City of Kawartha Lakes, Halton Hills, Hamilton, Huron and Perth, James and Hudson Bay Coast, Kingston, Kitchener–Waterloo–Wellesley–Wilmot–Woolwich, Lanark, Leeds & Grenville, London and Middlesex, Midland, Penetanguishene & Area, Milton, Muskoka, Niagara, Niagara North West, Nipissing–Temiskaming, North Etobicoke, Malton, West Woodbridge, North Lanark/North Grenville, North West Mississauga, North York, Northern, Northumberland County, Oakville, Orillia & Area, Ottawa, Oxford and Norfolk, Peterborough City and County, Prescott/Russell, Quinte, Renfrew County, Rural Frontenac, Lennox & Addington, Rural Hastings, Sarnia – Lambton, Scarborough, Scarborough North, Scarborough South, South Etobicoke, South Simcoe, South West Mississauga, Stormont/Dundas/Glengarry, Sudbury–Manitoulin–Parry Sound, Toronto, Wellington, Windsor – Essex, York - Toronto, York Region  
See Also: Advocacy and Social Action for Indigenous Peoples

This information was last completely updated on November 28, 2016

Suggest an Update

© 2018, 211 Ontario North – Lakehead Social Planning Council