Add to clipboard
 |  Share  |  Email  |  Print     Updated January 16, 2017
Suggest an Update
Organization: United Way Simcoe Muskoka - Low-income Energy Assistance Program  
Toll-Free: 1-855-487-5327
Barrie, ON
Hours: Mon-Fri 8:30 am-4 pm
Service Description: Provides financial assistance to individuals who are in arrears with Hydro One and/or Union Gas

Program is accessed by telephone only; there is no walk-in service location

  • Provides financial assistance to individuals who are in arrears with Hydro One (electricity) or Union Gas (natural gas)
  • Offers assistance up to $500 towards arrears (paid directly to the utility company) or up to $600 for electrically-heated homes

  • Fees: None
    Application: NOTE: there is both a pre-screening and an application process

    Call toll-free number to begin the pre-screening process

    The following documentation may be required:
    • Current utility bill
    • Disconnection notice (if applicable)
    • 2 pieces of ID for the applicant and 1 piece for all other household members
    • Copy of rental receipt, lease or mortgage document
    • Proof of household income for all members 18 years of age and older
    • Bank statement from the most recent month
    Eligibility - Population(s) Served:
    • Low-income individuals
    • Must be an existing customer of the utility
    • Individuals who are in arrears or have a disconnection notice
    • Account must be in applicants name
    • Applicant must reside at the address on the account

    Note: Individuals who are not able to sustain the energy costs following assistance will not be eligible
    Languages: English ; French
    Area(s) Served:
    Algoma, Barrie & Area, Brampton, Brant, Burlington, Caledon, Cambridge, Chatham – Kent, Cochrane, Collingwood & Area, Dufferin County, Durham Region, East York, Elgin, Etobicoke, Frontenac & Kingston, Grey and Bruce, Guelph, Haldimand Norfolk, Haliburton, Halton, Hamilton, Hastings, Huron and Perth, Kawartha Lakes, Kenora District, Kitchener-Waterloo, Lanark, Leeds & Grenville, Lennox & Addington, London and Middlesex, Malton, Manitoulin/Sudbury, Midland, Penetanguishene & Area, Mississauga, Muskoka, Niagara, Nipissing, North Lanark/North Grenville, North York, Northumberland, Orillia & Area, Ottawa, Oxford and Norfolk, Parry Sound, Peterborough, Prescott/Russell, Prince Edward, Rainy River District, Renfrew County, Rural Wellington, Sarnia – Lambton, Scarborough, South Simcoe, Stormont/Dundas/Glengarry, Thunder Bay City, Thunder Bay District, Timiskaming, Toronto, Trent Hills, Windsor – Essex, Woodbridge, York - Toronto, York Region  
    See Also: Financial Assistance for Rent and Utilities

    This information was last completely updated on January 16, 2017

    Suggest an Update

    © 2017, 211 Ontario North – Lakehead Social Planning Council